Skip to content

The Weight of a Moment

July 25, 2011

Push down into the moment. Heave your weight here, now, down. Press into the frame. Not to make it last longer but to fill it. To make it fully realized.

I want to except every moment besides now demands me. The exhaustion leftover from too many eighteen hour days last week pulls me back. The reality of not knowing what house I’ll live in seven days from here lunges me forward. The nameless fear surrounding Reed batter rams the soul and scatters my heart. Even the mundane of checking statuses, feeds and comments dulls now.

But quietly the whisper comes. Eat dinner with no phone, no t.v., no screen. Simply sit, eat, breathe, thank. Watch the baby play in the bathtub. Don’t entertain questions about what if he never…? Kneel, be amused, be absorbed. Thank. Pray unusual. Not help me, bless me, help me, bless me. Instead pray with thanks. He is the God who created the heavens, the earth, the starry hosts. Know the help will come. Instead pray in confidence, in awe, in now.

For what good is a moment if we’re only hurtling towards the next one?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle Rikard permalink
    July 25, 2011 11:37 pm

    We had a visit today with Isaac’s developmental pediatrician. For the first time in about a year I was able to talk about the things he was doing…not the things he was not….So thankful for the AMAZING child He chose to give me!

    • July 25, 2011 11:39 pm

      that’s powerful!

      • Michelle Rikard permalink
        July 25, 2011 11:42 pm

        Just hang in there…God has so much in store for you and your family. Sometimes it all gets cloudy, but remember that God’s plan is crystal clear!

Leave a Reply

