Skip to content

A Slowing

August 9, 2011
tags:

When did all the whirring stop? The only loud noises, now, outside my house, are summer crickets. The house, though, is quiet. Life is quiet in an unusual way.

Yes, new city. New job. New church. New people. But the maniacal hurry of January stumbling into FebruaryMarchAprilMayJuneJuly….August…has left me quiet. Not knowing enough people or places yet, my moments are stretched long and quiet.

And I realize that I’m uncomfortable with the very unbusyness of my life. How does one go from 60 to zero with one move and not feel whiplashed?

But I realize that this, too, is a gift from Jesus — one I didn’t think I wanted (needed?) but that’s the gist these days. For as I’m reading and absorbing and writing about the weight of a moment, I’m not challenged to learn that in a fury of hurry and go and next. Rather, I’m challenged to live it in a mostly unpacked house, with a napping baby, awaiting test results for that sleeping child, in a new city, with less familiar and much more new. With more crossed off my list than left undone.

And I fill these moments with prayers, with dreams, with reflections. And I lean into the very present moment, and I hang on the words of encouraging friends in the waiting, and I anticipate what’s before us.

One Comment leave one →
  1. chellejd permalink
    August 10, 2011 12:04 am

    This is why I love you. You’re just….you. You’re perfectly where God needs you and wants you right now. Revel in it. Drink it up. Take it in. Trust. Gosh, girl, November can’t come fast enough!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

