Skip to content

How is he?

January 19, 2012

We are thankful for so many who are praying for Reed, for our family, for the unknowns and challenges we face. Often, someone will ask me “How is Reed doing?” The right words seem to elude me.

Reed is “talking” a lot these days, experimenting with his vocal range, tone, and pitch. He’s exploring his tongue, nose, eyes, and hair. Most times when I go to extract him from the crib, he’s pointing at one of these body parts while sticking his tongue out at me. He’s laughing at himself a lot. He’s experimenting with motion: turning himself around in a cirlce while seated, scooching a couple of feet away from Dada while they play on the floor together, shifting his weight from one hip to the other, or grabbing onto a barstool rung in an attempt to go vertical. He’s using sign language to tell me when he’s thirsty, is ready for a nap, or wants to be picked up. He’s also learned how to play bashful when interacting with unfamiliar people.

Reed hasn’t been sick yet this winter season! He will eat anything I give him and then some more. Though he always eyes me a little warily when I don’t share my m&m’s with him.

So how is he doing? Wonderful, I’d say. Because even though Reed has an atypical genetic structure, he is not chronically or terminally ill. He has the same life expectancy as you and me. But please keep praying for mobility and development. He’s come a long, long way and learned so, so much but there are miles still to go. And this mama needs a persevering spirit of determination, hope, and joy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Charlotte permalink
    January 19, 2012 1:13 am

    Thanks for the update and for sharing your heart, Allison! It is good to hear how Reed is doing!! He’s changed a lot since I saw him! I love your thoughts that he is not chronically or terminally ill! Prayers for you as requested!
    Romans 15:13 May the God of HOPE fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

