Skip to content

Bloom

June 21, 2012

A couple of months ago a dear friend mailed me the book Bloom: Finding Beauty in the Unexpected by Kelle Hampton. The book is primarily about the journey after their second daughter was born with Down Syndrome unexpectedly. I wish everyone in my life would read this book. Seriously.

Kelle voices confessions I may never be able to, and I think others could understand our story in ways I may never be able to explain. Beyond simply our story, though, you just might find yourself inspired and challenged while laughing and crying and having your heart broken and then mended again. You may walk away understanding more about yourself.

I’ve read the book twice, and her confidence and determination inspired some of my own posts, like this one, among others. But, admittedly, this book was not an easy read. Painful, actually, in places because I wasn’t just reading about someone else’s life. I couldn’t just close the last chapter and say “Wow, great story.” I was reading a book that closely mirrored parts of our journey. But as most good books do, it ends with resolution, while our life is yet unfinished, unresolved, a constant ebb and flow of beauty and difficulty.

Painful, too, because it’s the book, the space, where I grappled with my own choice to choose either despair or hope facing unexpected circumstances. It’s the place where I stood for a long time with my dreams and expectations and had to decide white-knuckled clenched fists or open-palmed freedom. It was the whispered voiced asking through Kelle’s narration What are you going to do with this one wild and precious life?

My prayer is that each moment I’m choosing to let go and love, right here, right now. Without fear or regret. With confidence only God’s Spirit can give.

I want you to read this book, so much that I’m including this Amazon link to buy the book (I’d lend you my copy but it’s borrowed!) and this link to download the Kindle version so that when you finish it, we can have a conversation about their story, our story, your story.

And PS – I profit nothing but a good conversation if you choose to use those links!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. decdraft permalink
    June 21, 2012 5:12 pm

    Bought on my Kindle! Though it might to disturb you to know I think I have spent most of your inheritance because it is just so darn easy to click that one button and presto have a new book on my Kindle 🙂

    • June 21, 2012 5:16 pm

      I’m not delusional. Between books and dogs that inheritance is loooong gone!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

