Skip to content

A Full Month

November 3, 2012

Running late. Behind. As usual. Though tonight I can redeem one more hour than I ought. So many this month are giving thanks, all month through. And who am I not to follow suit? For “[t]he life that counts blessings discovers its yielding more than it seems” (A. Voskamp, here).

This day, Saturday, November 3rd, I gratefully embrace the paradox that is my life, that is the Life. A boy, “delayed,” yet so full of hope. Grieving that has brought joy. Doubts that have secured peace. A letting go that has returned gifts back to me a thousand fold.

And a faith that is paradox itself. Elisabeth Elliott explains this Jesus following as “[t]he principles of gain through loss, of joy through sorrow, of getting by giving, of fulfillment by laying down, of life out of death…and the people who have believed it… have found the gain, the joy, the getting, the fulfillment, the life.”

Lord, You have made my heart full. May my life be a gift of thanksgiving, returned to You.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Weaver permalink
    November 3, 2012 9:50 pm

    What a beautiful smile to make my day! It was such a treat…taking care of him in nursery on Wed night. He enjoyed playing with several of the toys with me and we became buddies! We had an unusually small group of only 5 instead of our usual 9.
    Thank you for wrestling with the choice ….to accept it with trust that is solidly built on hope of what we are promised. Now we see darkly but someday we will see clearly…face to face.
    I’m so glad that Jesus wrestled in the garden till he sweet drops of blood over trusting His Father and obeying and walking into pain and suffering and death so that we could have life!

    • November 3, 2012 10:45 pm

      Thanks for your sweet words, Beth! I’m so glad you and Reed got to spend time together on Wednesday — if his time with you was even half as good as the time I had with you at lunch the other week, then I know he had a ball 🙂

Leave a Reply

