Skip to content

Full of People & Their Stories

November 8, 2012

I never made a good journalist because the only question I really cared about was who. Who are you? What makes you who you are? Tell me your complicated story. And I’m sure the whats and whys and whens are all tangled up in the who. But it’s really you I want to know.

Seven iterations into November counting all the people, all the stories, all the whos I’ve known. And if I close my eyes and think still for just a moment, I can sense how each who has formed me, shaped me, rubbed me, changed me, lifted me, graced me, some even defied me. And I give thanks with a smile, a warmth, a joy in knowing that all these crazy mixed-up beautiful whos have become part of my story. And I’ve become part of theirs.

 

friends loves colleagues co-believers nonconformists parents aunts confidantes cousins nieces nephews sister students sisters mentors children

I wish I could write all your stories here. Share you with all the rest. But today, my spirit rests in thanksgiving and treasuring the richness you’ve shared with me.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kwilkins permalink
    November 8, 2012 12:09 am

    Beautiful.

  2. November 8, 2012 10:42 am

    This what I enjoy reading … words that create a sense of calm, even in the midst of the storm. The like-minded seekers will find this place.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

