Skip to content

Elisabeth Ansley

September 16, 2015

IMG_7501OIMG_7521   IMG_7494

Our second September baby came just when expected! Exactly six days before her actual due date, Elisabeth Ansley arrived at 11:42 a.m. on Friday, September 4th, weighing 8 pounds 8 ounces and measuring 20 1/4″ long.

While my last two births delivered complications, my third pregnancy was quite uncomplicated. Though of all my pregnancies this one held the most surprises: discovering I was expecting back in January was unexpected, learning that Reed and Luke would be big brothers to a little sister was delightfully surprising, and having to wait until the scheduled c-section date to meet her was unlike either of my previous pregnancies.

Just as planned on September 4th, Ben and I arrived at the hospital at 8:30 a.m. where I was quickly checked in and whisked back to pre-op. By 11 a.m. we were walking back to the operating room and 42 minutes later, with Ben holding my hand the entire time, my obstetrician delivered the loudest, most beautiful blonde haired baby girl I’d ever seen and I couldn’t stop smiling. That little girl wailed and wailed and wailed, at the top of her tiny lungs, as they cleaned her up and measured her and as her daddy cut her umbilical cord. But the moment they finally placed her on my chest, she snuggled in and quieted down, as if she knew she was at home.

Her brothers are incredibly sweet with her, always wanting to know where she is and then giving her soft, sweet kisses on her head. Her daddy and I are enjoying the fleeting moments of her newborn days, as we settle into the joy (and chaos) of being a family of five!

IMG_7497  IMG_7534  IMG_7496

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

