Skip to content

Health + Cleaning Routines

June 15, 2021
Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

The Enneagram 4 (think creative, spontaneous, bit of a free spirit streak) in me cries when I hear the words routine or consistency. Buuuuut, routine and consistency often make for a better, simpler, healthier life. When I was teaching four classes a semester (and doing alllll.the.grading all.the.time), it was really hard for me to find time to squeeze in much exercise or house cleaning, except in sporadic, unpredictable spurts. With more breathing room in my schedule now, I’m working towards more consistency in these areas.

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

About a month ago, I began (again) more consistent physical activity. My friend Lauren and I meet once a week and take a 4-5 mile walk alongside the river at Saluda Shoals Park. They have a $55 annual pass, which for us, more than pays for itself between the walking/biking trails, splash pad, and playgrounds (including Leo’s Landing which is an inclusive park) we use there! Walking is hands down my favorite form of exercise. Before marriage and kids, I routinely took 5-8 mile hikes in the upstate of SC, and maybe one day I’ll get back to that. But for now, being able to walk through the woods at Saluda Shoals (on a paved, gloriously shaded path) with one of my best friends once a week is awesome.

Photo by Cyril Saulnier on Unsplash

The other 4 days of the week (I usually take weekends off or find some way to be active as a family) I do 20-25 minute strength building exercises on YouTube. Recently I’ve been loving Juice + Toya‘s videos and Mr. & Mrs. Muscle. My heart rate gets up. I get sweaty. And I can feel the work my muscles have done afterwards. If the strength videos don’t include stretching at the end, I’ll find another 10 minute stretch video to do because I have notoriously tight hamstrings and stretching helps my lower back pain (caused by scoliosis) immensely.

Also, my house. I wish, like really, really wish, I was a person who naturally loved to clean. But I don’t. I can think of 1,658,978 other things I’d rather do than clean. If I thought you’d read the list, I’d write all those other things down. But you wouldn’t, so you’ll just have to take my word on it. But, I’m working toward a regularly, tidy home. Years ago a friend recommended FlyLady.net, so I’m starting with her baby steps today! I’m also trying to involve the kids more in daily household chores…let’s just say this is still a work in progress. But a very brief overview is that they have daily expectations (get dressed, put away clothes, make bed, pick up toys, and clear off kitchen table [this where most of the arts/crafts/etc. happen in our house]) and then chores they earn commission/allowance for (tending the chickens, feeding the dogs, dishes, mopping, sweeping, etc.). Overall, this has been a good shift but still needs some tweaking. So, more on that in another post!

Photo by Jonathan Francisca on Unsplash

What about you? Are you really, really good at routines? More of free spirit like me? How do you keep your home and health humming along?

No comments yet

Leave a comment